Devotion on Silence

Today’s devotion is about Silence.

Its been a good two weeks or more since I have not meditated nor completed my devotional studies. I feel as if I have fallen off the spiritual path because certain destructive qualities that have crept into my life such as stress, sadness, anxiety and fear of negative possible outcomes in my relationship with my son and my boyfriend. I have intended to get back on my devotional studies but would allow myself to get sidetracked.

In silence we speak truths. It allows me to separate myself from the clatter of negative thoughts. It allows me to hear and see things from God’s perspective in a wholesome way. I start by asking questions about why am I feeling a certain way. The answers begin to stream in as if God personally were answering my questions.

For the past weeks, I have been very busy with work, spending time with my boyfriend and son independently and on free time chattering away on Twitter. I have found that noise clatter in my life has blocked my connection with myself and with God. I found myself having feelings that I normally wouldn’t otherwise such as the stress, sadness, anxiety and fear of negative possible outcomes in my relationship with my son and my boyfriend. I have become more tired needing more sleep.

From today moving forward I will make a commitment to spend less time on Twitter and more time meditating by either writing in this journal or practicing breathing exercises. Sometimes I wish I had more people around me that I could fellowship with and whom could share devotional stories with me instead of me always sharing my stories with those I care about. Today my great friend Neida was there to hold my hand and lead me through some scriptures. But I know I can’t focus on others and I have to just give my stories lovingly because through me God speaks via my triumphs and tribulations.

Today’s spiritual scripture:

Psalm 40: 1-8

“1 I waited patiently for the LORD;he turned to me and heard my cry.

2 He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.

3 He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the LORD.

4 Blessed is the man who makes the LORD his trust, who does not look to the proud, to those who turn aside to false gods.

5 Many, O LORD my God, are the wonders you have done. The things you planned for us no one can recount to you; were I to speak and tell of them, they would be too many to declare.

6 Sacrifice and offering you did not desire, but my ears you have pierced burnt offerings and sin offerings you did not require.

7 Then I said, “Here I am, I have come— it is written about me in the scroll.

8 I desire to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart.””

Leave a Reply

